Meet the Task Force – Computing Education Task Force

Meet the Task Force

The CETF is co-chaired by Gus Evrard, Arthur Thurnau Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Mark Guzdial, Professor of Computer Science & Engineering and Engineering Education Research. Gus has been on the faculty since 1990, is an expert on computational cosmology and big data astrophysics, and created a broad-based course on “Cyberscience: Computational Science and the Rise of the Fourth Paradigm.” Mark joined us at Michigan in 2018, moving from Georgia Tech, where he helped to found the International Computing Education Research Conference. His most recent book is “Learner-Centered Design of Computing Education: Research on Computing for Everyone.”


August Evrard Headshot

August Evrard

Arthur F Thurnau Professor, Professor of Physics and Astronomy
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Mark Guzdial Headshot

Mark Guzdial

Professor of Electrical Engineering & Computer, Science College of Engineering and Professor of Information, School of Information

Faculty Committee Members

Elizabeth Bruch Headshot

Elizabeth Bruch

Associate Professor in Sociology and Complex Systems
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Nick Henriksen Headshot

Nick Henriksen

Associate Chair; Associate Professor of Spanish Linguistics
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Amir Kamil Headshot

Amir Kamil 

Lecturer IV, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 
College of Engineering

Rick Lewis Headshot

Rick Lewis

John R. Anderson Collegiate Professor of Psychology, Linguistics and Cognitive Science
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Annette Ostling Headshot

Annette Ostling

Associate Professor in EEB
Associate Director, MICDE
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Sarita Schoenbeck Headshot

Sarita Schoenbeck

Associate Professor of Information, School of Information

M. Remi Yergeau Headshot

M. Remi Yergeau

Associate Professor of English Language and Literature, Associate Director, Digital Studies Institute and Associate Professor of the Digital Studies Institute
College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

A Special Thank You to Our CETF Advisory Committee Members

Tim McKay, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education LSA
Benjamin Anderson, Director of Employer Development, LSA Opportunity Hub
JoAnn Peraino, Curriculum and Enrollment Manager, LSA
Michael Hartman, Assistant Director, Transfer Initiatives and Partnerships, LSA
Shylynn Lofton, Comprehensive Studies Program (CSP) Faculty, LSA
Tyrone Stewart, Academic Advisor, Academic Standards Board, LSA

lsa logoum logoU-M Privacy StatementAccessibility at U-M