Faculty Liaisons

Each participating university has a Faculty Liaison position filled by an expert in the field of Islamic Studies. Faculty Liaisons serve on a committee that meets annually to discuss the progress and modification of DISC over the grant period. Liaisons also serve as the primary contact for each institution, see the list below for the contact at your university.


 

Ron Sela : Indiana University

Ron Sela

Indiana University

Associate Professor of Central Eurasian Studies, International Studies, Director of the Islamic Studies Program, and Adjunct Associate Professor for the Department of History

rsela@indiana.edu
Abla Hasan : University of Nebraska Lincoln

Abla Hasan

University of Nebraska Lincoln

Assistant Professor of Practice of Arabic Language & Culture for the Department of Modern Languages & Literatures

abla.hasan@unl.edu
Samer Ali : University of Michigan

Samer Ali

University of Michigan

Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic culture, Department of Near Eastern Studies

samerali@umich.edu
Jeanne H. Kilde : University of Minnesota

Jeanne H. Kilde

University of Minnesota

Director, Religious Studies Program

jkilde@umn.edu
Mohammad Hassan Khalil : Michigan State University

Mohammad Hassan Khalil

Michigan State University

Associate Professor of Religious Studies, Adjunct Professor of Law and Director of the Muslim Studies program

khalilmsu@gmail.com
Brannon Ingram : Northwestern University

Brannon Ingram

Northwestern University

Assistant Professor of Religion

brannon.ingram@northwestern.edu
Hadi Jorati : Ohio State University

Hadi Jorati

Ohio State University

Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

jorati.2@osu.edu
Jonathan Brockopp : Pennsylvania State University

Jonathan Brockopp

Pennsylvania State University

Associate Professor of History and Religious Studies

brockopp@psu.edu
Ahmed Idrissi Alami : Purdue University

Ahmed Idrissi Alami

Purdue University

Associate Professor of Languages and Cultures

aidrissi@purdue.edu
Charles G. Haberl : Rutgers University

Charles G. Haberl

Rutgers University

Associate Professor and Chair of African, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Languages and Literatures

haberl@rutgers.edu
Valerie J. Hoffman : University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Valerie J. Hoffman

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Professor and Head of the Department of Religion

vhoffman@illinois.edu
Ahmed E. Souaiaia : University of Iowa

Ahmed E. Souaiaia

University of Iowa

Associate Professor of Islamic Studies and Adjunct Faculty at the College of Law

ahmed-souaiaia@uiowa.edu
Peter Wien : University of Maryland

Peter Wien

University of Maryland

Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of History

PC: Michael R. Barnes, Smithsonian Institution

pwien@umd.edu
Nabil Matar : University of Minnesota

Nabil Matar

University of Minnesota

Presidential Professor for English, History and Religious Studies programs

matar010@umn.edu
TBD : University of Wisconsin-Madison

TBD

University of Wisconsin-Madison