Current Members

Igor Krivenko : Postdoc

Igor Krivenko

Joe Kleinhenz : Graduate Student

Joe Kleinhenz

Graduate Student
Markus Wallerberger : Postdoc

Markus Wallerberger

Tianran Chen : visiting scholar

Tianran Chen

visiting scholar
Emanuel Gull : Associate Professor

Emanuel Gull

Associate Professor

Contact Details
Department of Physics
University of Michigan
Randall Laboratory
450 Church Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1040
Telephone 734-615-0726
Short CV

    • 08/2012 - ongoing Assistant Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
    • 01/2012 - 07/2012 Junior work group leader, Max Planck Institut für die Physik komplexer Systeme (MPI PKS) Dresden, Dresden, Germany.
    • 01/2009 - 12/2011 Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Department of Physics, Columbia University.
    • 10/2005 - 12/2008 Doctoral studies at ETH Zürich at the Institut für Theoretische Physik in the group of Prof. Matthias Troyer.
    • 10/2000 - 10/2005 Student of physics at ETH Zürich.

Recent awards and honorable mentions

  • I’ve won the Nevill Mott SCES prize 2013, ‘for a person who has made distinguished contributions to the theory of strongly correlated electron systems’!
  • I’ve received a honorable mention for the ‘Hermann Kümmel Early Achievement Award’, ‘for the development of the Continuous-Time Auxiliary-Field Quantum Monte Carlo Method and for its use in understanding the interplay of the pseudogap and superconductivity in the Hubbard model’! Congratulations to the winner, Max Metlitski, and to my fellow honorees Kai Sun and Martin Eckstein!
  • I’ve received a 2013 DOE Early Career award!
  • I’ve been named a 2014 Sloan Fellow!
  • I’ve received a 2014 ORAU Powe award!
  • I’ve been chosen to give the 2014 Pauli Lecture at the DESY in Hamburg
  • The Simons Foundation has written an awardee spotlight about our research

Recent Publications

Alexander Gaenko : Research Scientist, ARC

Alexander Gaenko

Research Scientist, ARC
Joe Paki : Graduate Student

Joe Paki

Graduate Student
Sergei Iskakov : Postdoc

Sergei Iskakov

Jia Li : Graduate Student

Jia Li

Graduate Student

Former Members

Hanna Terletska, 2015-2017 : Postdoc

Hanna Terletska, 2015-2017


Now faculty at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU)


Xi Chen, defended 2017 : Graduate Student

Xi Chen, defended 2017

Graduate Student

Xi now works at the Flatiron Institute of the Simons Foundation in New York City.

Qiaoyuan Dong, defended 2017 : Graduate Student

Qiaoyuan Dong, defended 2017

Graduate Student
Andrey Antipov, 2013-2016 : Former Postdoc

Andrey Antipov, 2013-2016

Former Postdoc

Andrey has moved to Microsoft StationQ in 2016


James LeBlanc, 2014-2016 : Former Postdoc

James LeBlanc, 2014-2016

Former Postdoc

James moved to Memorial University of Newfoundland in July 2016



The 2017 group at Xi Chen’s defense. Back row, left to right: Igor Krivenko, Joe Kleinhenz, Jia Li, Joe Paki, and Markus Wallerberger. Middle row: Sergei Iskakoff, Qiaoyuan Dong, Hanna Terletska, and Alexander Gaenko. Front row: Emanuel Gull and Xi Chen
The 2014 group: From left to right: Andrey Antipov, Joe Paki, Qiaoyuan Dong, Xi Chen, Emanuel Gull, and James LeBlanc