Calendar

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
Ann Arbor Poetry: TBA 7:00 pm
Ann Arbor Poetry: TBA @ Espresso Royale
Jul 2 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Readings by featured poets, preceded by a poetry open mike. Reading by TBA 7-9 p.m. (sign-up begins at 6:30 p.m.), Espresso Royale, 324 S. State. $5 suggested donation. facebook.com/AnnArborPoetry.
3
4
5
6
Fiction at Literati: Dustin M. Hoffman and Chris McCormick 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Dustin M. Hoffman and Chris McCormick @ Literati
Jul 6 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is pleased to welcome Dustin M. Hoffman in support of his debut short-story collection, One-Hundred-Knuckled Fist. Dustin will be joined for this reading by Chris McCormick, author of Literati Cultura selection Desert Boys. Rare voices in …

Fiction at Literati: Dustin M. Hoffman and Chris McCormick Read More »

7
8
9
10
Ann Arbor Stories: Richard Retyi and Brian Peters 7:00 pm
Ann Arbor Stories: Richard Retyi and Brian Peters @ Literati
Jul 10 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Richard Retyi and Brian Peters are Ann Arbor Stories, a podcast featuring stories of Ann Arbor’s distant and not so distant past, produced in partnership with the Ann Arbor District Library. Join them at Literati …

Ann Arbor Stories: Richard Retyi and Brian Peters Read More »

Emerging Writers: How to Publish and Market Your Indie Book 7:00 pm
Emerging Writers: How to Publish and Market Your Indie Book @ AADL Westgate
Jul 10 @ 7:00 pm – 8:45 pm
On July 10, local short story writer Alex Kourvo and young adult novelist Bethany Neal are joined by marketing specialist Leslie McGraw to discuss the ins and outs of self-publishing. For adult and teen (grade …

Emerging Writers: How to Publish and Market Your Indie Book Read More »

11
Fiction at Literati: Ian Bassingthwaighte with Lillian Li 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Ian Bassingthwaighte with Lillian Li @ Literati
Jul 11 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is thrilled to launch Live from Cairo, the debut novel by Ian Bassingthwaighte. Ian will be joined in conversation by Lillian Li, author of the novel The Duck House, forthcoming from Henry Holt in 2018. …

Fiction at Literati: Ian Bassingthwaighte with Lillian Li Read More »

12
Fiction at Literati: Bianca Marais 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Bianca Marais @ Literati
Jul 12 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is pleased to welcome Bianca Marais in support of her debut novel, Hum If You Don’t Know the Words. Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, Hum If You …

Fiction at Literati: Bianca Marais Read More »

Greg Fournier: Terror in Ypsilanti 7:00 pm
Greg Fournier: Terror in Ypsilanti @ Nicola's Books
Jul 12 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Gregory A. Fournier received his bachelor and master’s degrees from Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti while the Washtenaw County murders were occurring. He lived one block up the street from John Norman Collins and had …

Greg Fournier: Terror in Ypsilanti Read More »

Poetry and the Written Word 7:00 pm
Poetry and the Written Word @ Crazy Wisdom
Jul 12 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
All invited to read and discuss their poetry or short stories. Bring about 6 copies of your work to share. Hosted by local poets and former college English teachers Joe Kelty and Ed Morin. 7-9 …

Poetry and the Written Word Read More »

13
Open Mic and Share: Clayton Eshleman 7:00 pm
Open Mic and Share: Clayton Eshleman @ Bookbound
Jul 13 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Readings by poet Clayton Eshleman. The program begins with an open mike for poets, who are welcome to read their own work or a favorite poem by another writer. Clayton Eshleman was born in Indianapolis, Indiana, …

Open Mic and Share: Clayton Eshleman Read More »

P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast: Loved 7:00 pm
P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast: Loved @ Literati
Jul 13 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is delighted to welcome P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast in support of the latest novel in their House of Night series for teen readers, Loved. About Loved: It’s Zoey’s eighteenth birthmas and the Nerd …

P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast: Loved Read More »

Storytellers Guild: Story Night 7:00 pm
Storytellers Guild: Story Night @ Crazy Wisdom
Jul 13 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Storytellers Guild members present a program of old tales and personal stories for grownups. Free; donations accepted. annarborstorytelling.org, facebook.com/annarborstorytellers. 665-2757.
14
15
16
Ann Arbor Poetry: TBA 7:00 pm
Ann Arbor Poetry: TBA @ Espresso Royale
Jul 16 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Readings by featured poets, preceded by a poetry open mike. Reading by TBA 7-9 p.m. (sign-up begins at 6:30 p.m.), Espresso Royale, 324 S. State. $5 suggested donation. facebook.com/AnnArborPoetry.
17
18
Billy Bragg: Roots, Radicals and Rockers: How Skiffle Changed the World 7:00 pm
Billy Bragg: Roots, Radicals and Rockers: How Skiffle Changed the World @ The Ark
Jul 18 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Tickets are $35 dollars, and bundled with a hardcover copy of the book. A Q&A and book-signing will follow the presentation. Please note that this event will not include a musical performance, but a one-of-a-kind …

Billy Bragg: Roots, Radicals and Rockers: How Skiffle Changed the World Read More »

Moth Storyslam: Denial 7:30 pm
Moth Storyslam: Denial @ Ann Arbor Distilling Company
Jul 18 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
Open mike storytelling competition sponsored by The Moth, the NYC-based nonprofit storytelling organization that also produces a weekly public radio show. Each month 10 storytellers are selected at random from among those who sign up …

Moth Storyslam: Denial Read More »

19
Fiction at Literati: Julie Buntin 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Julie Buntin @ Literati
Jul 19 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is delighted to welcome Julie Buntin in support of her debut novel, Marlena, a staff favorite. Marlena is the story of two girls and the wild year that will cost one her life, and …

Fiction at Literati: Julie Buntin Read More »

20
Chang Lecture: Dr. David Watts 5:00 pm
Chang Lecture: Dr. David Watts @ Ford Auditorium
Jul 20 @ 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm
Literati is delighted to be the bookseller for the Chang Lecture on Art and Medicine at the University of Michigan’s Ford Auditorium, which will be delivered by Dr. David Watts. The process of healing is …

Chang Lecture: Dr. David Watts Read More »

21
22
Kevin Hearne: The Besieged 3:00 pm
Kevin Hearne: The Besieged @ Nicola's Books
Jul 22 @ 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
Kevin Hearne: The Besieged @ Nicola's Books | Ann Arbor | Michigan | United States
Kevin Hearne lives with his wife, son, and doggies in Colorado. He hugs trees and rocks out to heavy metal and will happily geek out over comics with you. He also thinks tacos are a …

Kevin Hearne: The Besieged Read More »

23
24
Emerging Writers: Open House 7:00 pm
Emerging Writers: Open House @ AADL Westgate
Jul 24 @ 7:00 pm – 8:45 pm
Local short story writer Alex Kourvo and young adult novelist Bethany Neal host an open house for writers to connect with one another and/or work on their projects.
25
Discussing Detroit with Rebecca J. Kinney and Stephen M. Ward 7:00 pm
Discussing Detroit with Rebecca J. Kinney and Stephen M. Ward @ Literati
Jul 25 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is pleased to welcome Rebecca J. Kinney and Stephen M. Ward for a discussion of their recent books about Detroit and the people who form its heart. What is the “new Detroit” that everyone …

Discussing Detroit with Rebecca J. Kinney and Stephen M. Ward Read More »

Skazat! Poetry Series: 2017 Ann Arbor Youth Poetry Slam Team 7:00 pm
Skazat! Poetry Series: 2017 Ann Arbor Youth Poetry Slam Team @ Sweetwaters
Jul 25 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Reading by the 2017 Ann Arbor Youth Poetry Slam Team, fresh from their performance at the Brave New Voices poetry festival in Washington, D.C. The program begins with open mike readings. 7-8:30 p.m., Sweetwaters Coffee …

Skazat! Poetry Series: 2017 Ann Arbor Youth Poetry Slam Team Read More »

26
Fiction at Literati: Daniel Magariel with John Ganiard 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Daniel Magariel with John Ganiard @ Literati
Jul 26 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is delighted to welcome staff-favorite Daniel Magariel in support of his debut novel, One of the Boys, a Literati Cultura selection. Daniel will be joined in conversation by Literati’s event manager John Ganiard, a graduate …

Fiction at Literati: Daniel Magariel with John Ganiard Read More »

Home Plate: Fictionalizing Familiar Places, with Kelly Fordon and Laura Thomas 7:00 pm
Home Plate: Fictionalizing Familiar Places, with Kelly Fordon and Laura Thomas @ Happy Dog at the Euclid Tavern
Jul 26 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
The authors will discuss how their fiction transforms home into character. How do writers use assumptions about familiar places to find the unexpected and surprising?  When is a hometown the whole trouble, and also the …

Home Plate: Fictionalizing Familiar Places, with Kelly Fordon and Laura Thomas Read More »

Poetry and the Written Word: Richard Solomon 7:00 pm
Poetry and the Written Word: Richard Solomon @ Crazy Wisdom
Jul 26 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Reading by Richard Solomon, a prominent local developmental pediatrician who is also a widely published, prize-winning poet. Followed by a poetry and short fiction open mike. 7-9 p.m., Crazy Wisdom, 114 S. Main. Free. 665-2757 …

Poetry and the Written Word: Richard Solomon Read More »

27
28
Fiction at Literati: Tai M. Klein 7:00 pm
Fiction at Literati: Tai M. Klein @ Literati
Jul 28 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Literati is delighted to launch Tal Klein’s debut novel, The Punch Escrow. It’s the year 2147. Advancements in nanotechnology have enabled us to control aging. We’ve genetically engineered mosquitoes to feast on carbon fumes instead …

Fiction at Literati: Tai M. Klein Read More »

29
Panel Discussion on “Bad Guys” with Sarah Zettel, Terrence P. Bronson, Louis Stock, and Jason Porter 2:30 pm
Panel Discussion on “Bad Guys” with Sarah Zettel, Terrence P. Bronson, Louis Stock, and Jason Porter @ Ann Arbor Comedy Showcase
Jul 29 @ 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
Membership event for the new Michigan chapter of Sisters in Crime, Saturday, July 29, 2:30 PM. Refreshments, membership sign up, and a panel discussion on “Bad Guys” with author Sarah Zettel, Judge Terrence P. Bronson, …

Panel Discussion on “Bad Guys” with Sarah Zettel, Terrence P. Bronson, Louis Stock, and Jason Porter Read More »

Daniel Foor: Book Signing and Ancestral Healing Talk 6:00 pm
Daniel Foor: Book Signing and Ancestral Healing Talk @ Crazy Wisdom
Jul 29 @ 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Everyone has loving and wise ancestors, and by reaching out for their support we access tremendous vitality for personal and family healing. In addition to supporting repairs with living family, our ancestors encourage healthy self-esteem …

Daniel Foor: Book Signing and Ancestral Healing Talk Read More »

30
31