2015-18  Transforming Learning for Third Century (TLTC) Transformation Grant
2014 Transforming Learning for Third Century (TLTC) Discovery Grant
2013 Transforming Learning for Third Century (TLTC) Quick-Wins Grant
New Initiative New Infrastructure (NINI) Grant
2012 LSA IT Faculty Project Grant
2011 Rackham Summer research Grant
2007 Michigan Humanities Award
2006 Winner of the Salo Baron prize for best first book in Judaic Studies given by the American Academy for Jewish Studies.
2005 Winner of the Theology and Religious Studies award in the Professional and Scholarly Publishing awards given by the Association of American Publishers for the book God’s Mountain: the Temple Mount in Time, Space, and Memory
2004-5 Senior Fellowship at the Institute of Advanced Studies, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
2004 Faculty Enhancement Award (University of Michigan)
2003 LSA ITC Faculty Grant (University of Michigan)
Rackham Faculty Research Grant (University of Michigan)
2002 CRLT Faculty Development Award (University of Michigan)
2001 Grants from the University of Michigan office of Vice President for Research and the Fraenkel Center for Judaic Studies for the completion of book on the Temple Mount.
1999 Bernard M. Bloomfield Prize for Outstanding Doctorate Dissertation in the Humanities Hebrew University
1998-2000 Dorot Post Doctorate Fellowship New York University
1995-6 Fulbright Fellowship Princeton University
1994-7 Rotenstreich Fellowship Israeli Council for Higher Education
1994-5 Research Award Jewish Memorial Foundation
1994 The Francis Günter Award for Jerusalem Studies
1993 M.A. Grant for Excellence Hebrew University
A. & R. Negev Award   Institute of Archaeology, Hebrew U.
Kahana Award Institute of Jewish Studies, Hebrew U.
1992 Rector Award Hebrew University
Gutwirth Award Institute of Archaeology, Hebrew U.
1991 Excellence Grant