Collegiate Professorship, University of Michigan (2015)

Commendation, Vondel Prize for Translation from the Dutch, Society of Authors, London (2014)

Faculty Recognition Award, University of Michigan (2011)

Visiting Fellow, Princeton University Council for the Humanities (2004)

Guggenheim Fellowship (2003-2004)

Henry Russel Award for Research and Teaching, University of Michigan (2002)

Honorable Mention, MLA First Book Prize (1999)

Sonya Rudikoff Prize for First Book in Victorian Studies (1999)

Prize for Best Essay, Women’s Classical Caucus of the American Philological Association (1999)

NEH Fellowship for University Teachers (1999-2000)

LS&A Class of 1929 Distinguished Teaching Award, University of Michigan (1998)

Research Fellow, Institute for Research on Women & Gender, University of Michigan (Fall 1996)

NEH Fellowship for College Teachers (1993-1994)

Incentive Award, Journal of Classical and Modern Literature (1992)

Seeger Fellow for Hellenic Studies, Princeton University (Summer 1988)

Whiting Fellow, Princeton University (1987-1988)

Mellon Fellow, Princeton University (1984-1989)

Fulbright Scholar, The Netherlands (1983-1983)

Marshall Scholar, Cambridge University (1981-1983)

Phi Beta Kappa, Swarthmore College (1981)

Hayes Prize for Translation, Swarthmore College (1980)

National Scholar, Swarthmore College (1977-1981)