RC students win Fall 2019 Hopwoods!

Several current RC students (and LSA students majoring in RC Creative Writing) won Fall 2019 Hopwood awards! Congratulations!

First- and Second-Year Hopwood Awards in Fiction
Jena Vallina
Vivian Chiao

First- and Second- Year Hopwood Awards in Poetry
Nicole Tooley
Jade Wurst
Olivia Evans

First- and Second-Year Hopwood Awards in Nonfiction
Olivia Evans

The Michael R. Gutterman Award
Miriam Saperstein

The Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry
smitty smith

The Jeffrey L. Weisberg Memorial Award
Julia Freeman

Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship
Mylicia Williams
Grace Toll

The Roy and Helen Meador Writing Award
Jena Vallina

Academy of American Poets Award
Lynne Bekdash

These honors will be conferred on Wednesday, January 22, 5:30-7:30. in the Rackham Auditorium.

Following the announcement of the awards, there will be a reading from Raquel Salas Rivera, Poet Laureate of Philadelphia, winner of the 2018 Ambroggio Prize, & winner of the Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Poetry.

Light reception to follow. Free to attend and open to all!