Row 1: Michael Riehs, Kwan Leung, Yingshuo Liu, Lesley Escobar, Robert Bonsall, Weixuan Nie
Row 2: William Dean, Ziqiao Xu, Taylor Soucy, Samuel Michaud, Matthew Kastelic
Row 3: Jeremy Kallick, Kevin Rivera Cruz, Drew Tarnopol
Row 4: Prof. Charles C. L. McCrory

Recent News

Congratulations to Kwan Leung for winning a Karle Symposium Poster Travel Award!

Our invited mini review “Controlled Substrate Transport to Electrocatalyst Active Sites for Enhanced Selectivity in the Carbon Dioxide Reduction Reaction” has been published in Comments on Inorganic Chemistry.  Congrats Yingshuo, Kwan, Sam, and Taylor!

We welcome rotation student Kevin Enrique Rivera Cruz (B.S. University of Puerto Rico, Cayay)!

Congratulations to Yingshuo Liu on being awarded the Robert W. Parry Award for excellence in research in inorganic chemistry!

Congratulations to Kwan Leung on being awarded the Florence Fenwick Outstanding Student Instructor Award for her contributions to general chemistry instruction!

Our article “Modulating the Mechanism of Electrocatalytic CO2 Reduction by Cobalt Phthalocyanine through Polymer Coordination and Encapsulation” has been accepted for publication in Nature Communications.  Congrats Yingshuo!

Congratulations to Ammar Ibrahim and Michael Riehs for being recognized by the UM Chemistry Department and the American Chemical Society with undergraduate research awards.  Ammar was awarded the ACS Physical Chemistry Award, and Michael was awarded the ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award.

Congratulations to Ammar Ibrahim for graduating from the University of Michigan.  Good luck with your graduate studies in chemistry at Caltech.

We are very excited to be awarded the 2019 Cottrell Scholars Award from the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement for our work on “Selective Electrocatalysis by Polymer-Encapsulated Catalysts: the Role of Charge and Substrate Transport on Catalytic Efficiency.”

We welcome rotation student Lloyd Fisher (B.S. Mercer University)!

Lei Pan (B.S. Shanghai Jiao Tong University) and Ziqiao Xu (B.S. Ohio University) have joined the lab as Master’s students.  Congratulations!

Our collaborative article “Imidazole for Pyridine Substitution Leads to Enhanced Activity Under Milder Conditions in Cobalt Water Oxidation Electrocatalysis” with the Anderson Lab at U Chicago has been accepted for publication in Inorganic Chemistry.  Congrats Chia-Cheng and Weijie!

Matthew Kastelic (B.S. University of South Florida) from the Department of Chemical Engineering has joined the lab as a Ph.D. student.  Congratulations!


We welcome Lirong Shi as a rotating graduate student for the fall semester. She will be working on nitrate reduction with William.

Our book chapter “Evaluating Electrocatalysts for Solar Water-Splitting Reactions” co-authored by Jeremy Kallick has been published by the Royal Society of Chemistry in the book Integrated Solar Fuels Generators!  Congrats Jeremy!