Veatch Research Group – 2016

Principal Investigator

Dr. Sarah Veatch is an Assistant Professor of Biophysics and Physics and has been at the University of Michigan since 2010. She completed her PhD in Physics at the University of Washington with Sarah Keller, where she did pioneering work characterizing coexisting liquid phases in purified membrane vesicles. Sarah conducted  postdoctoral training with Barbara Baird and David Holowka at Cornell University, where she discovered that isolated cell plasma membranes are poised close to a miscibility critical point at growth temperatures and began applying newly developed super resolution localization based imaging techniques to quantify biological membrane heterogeneity.  Sarah has built upon these foundations in her independent laboratory, which aims to understand how cells exploit the mixing properties of plasma membrane lipids to accomplish diverse biological functions.

Sarah has received numerous awards since joining the faculty at UM, including the Howard Prize from Durham University in 2015, the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff award from the Biophysical Society in 2014, and the a Sloan Research Fellowship in 2012.

Dr. Matthew Stone

Postdoctoral Researcher (more…)

Dr. Sarah Shelby

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr. Brian DeVree

Postdoctoral Researcher


Kathleen Wisser

Laboratory Manager


Julia Bourg

Biophysics Graduate Student


Thomas Shaw

Applied Physics Graduate Student


Rohan Desi

Undergraduate Student (more…)

Ryan Shriver

Undergraduate Student

Zoe Gerstle

Undergraduate Student (more…)

Former Group Members

Dr. Elin Edwald

Dr. Mariam Nouri
Dr. Krishnan Raghunathan

Jing Wu
Marko Martinovski

Ellyn Gray
Erin Gray
Margaret Burns
Eric Sink
Gladys Diaz-Vazquez
Jason Karslake
Joshua Karslake
Rasseil (Rosie) Alzouhayli
Juan Lazo
Amandine Lee
Anish Abrol
Sam Hern
Karun Nair
Adam Sobilo