John Montgomery

Office Address

930 N. University
Department of Chemistry
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1055





John Montgomery grew up in Albemarle, N.C. and studied chemistry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, graduating in 1987. While at UNC, he conducted research under the direction of Profs. Joe Templeton and Maurice Brookhart where his experience sparked his interest in organometallic chemistry. During this time, he became a huge Tarheel fan while living in the same dorm as Michael Jordan during his freshman year. He then went on to receive his Ph.D. at Colorado State University in 1991 under the direction of Prof. Louis Hegedus, and he was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California at Irvine from 1991 – 1993 with Prof. Larry Overman.

In 1993, he began his independent career at Wayne State University, and he moved to the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 2005. In 2013 he was appointed as the Margaret and Herman Sokol Professor in the Department of Chemistry, and in 2020, he was named as an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor for undergraduate teaching. He currently serves as the Director of the Michigan Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program funded by NIGMS, and he is a member of the Interdepartmental Program in Medicinal Chemistry and the Program in Chemical Biology. The Montgomery group is currently part of the NSF Center for Selective C-H Functionalization (CCHF) and the NIH Common Fund Program in Glycoscience. In addition to working with his terrific research group of students and postdoctorals, he also enjoys teaching and mentoring the diverse population of undergraduate students at Michigan. He is a big fan of U of M athletics, and he enjoys attending games with his wife and two daughters. #GoBlue!

He has received a number of awards including a Pfizer Michigan Green Chemistry Award (2007), American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2001), Johnson and Johnson Focused Giving Grant (2001), Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award (1998), National Science Foundation CAREER Award (1996), 3M Corporation New Faculty Award (1996), a Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award (2017), an LSA Individual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education (2018), and he is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2011). He has graduated 38 Ph.D. students from his lab, published >100 scientific publications, and presented >250 invited lectures over his career.

Biocatalytic C-H Oxidations

CCHF Virtual Symposium Presentation

Outreach and Engagement

Flash Talk at UM Faculty Forum