People

 

Dr. Melanie Sanford

Melanie Sanford grew up in Providence, RI. She received her undergraduate degree in chemistry from Yale University in 1996 where she worked with Professor Bob Crabtree studying C–F bond functionalization. She then moved to Caltech where she worked with Professor Bob Grubbs investigating the mechanism of ruthenium-catalyzed olefin metathesis reactions. After receiving her PhD in 2001, she worked with Professor Jay Groves at Princeton University as an NIH post-doctoral fellow studying metalloporphyrin-catalyzed functionalization of olefins. Melanie has been a professor at the University of Michigan since the summer of 2003.
Curriculum Vitae


 

Marc Hanosh

Lab Manager & Administrative Support

Master’s in Public Health 2018
University of Michigan

Time: 2019-Present
mhanosh@umich.edu

Hometown: Metro Detroit, MI


 

Dr. Tom Vaid

B.S. Chemistry 1992
University of Illinois
Advisor: Dr. Thomas Rauchfuss

Ph.D. Chemistry 1997
Cornell University
Advisor: Dr. Peter Wolczanski

Postdoctoral Scholar 2000
California Institute of Technology
Advisor: Dr. Nathan Lewis

Time: 2017–Present
Role: Research Scientist
Project: Flow Batteries
vaidt@umich.edu

Hometown: Des Plaines, IL


Dr. S. Maryamdokht (Nazanin) Taimoory

M.Sc. Chemistry 2008
Sharif University of Technology
Advisor: Dr. Firouz Matloubi Moghaddam

Ph.D. Chemistry 2016
Brock University
Advisor: Dr. Travis Dudding

Postdoctoral Fellow 2016
University of Windsor
Advisor: Dr. John. F. Trant

Time: 2020–Present
Project(s): Organometallics/ Fluorination
seyedeht@umich.edu

Hometown: Lasalle, ON


Dr. Joshua Laffoon

B.S. Chemistry 2015
Arkansas Tech University
Advisors: Dr. Franklin D. Hardcastle
and Charles Mebi

Ph.D. Chemistry 2020
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey S. Moore

Time: 2020-Present
Project: Flow Batteries
laffoon@umich.edu

Hometown: Harrison, AR


Dr. En-Chih Liu

B.S. Chemistry 2012
National Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan
Advisor: Dr. Yao-Ting Wu

Ph.D. Chemistry 2021
University of Minnesota
Advisor: Dr. Joseph Topczewski

Time: 2021- Present
Project: C-H
enchih@umich.edu

Hometown: Taiwan


 

Isaac Blythe

M.S. Chemistry 2018
Texas State University
Advisor: Dr. Todd Hudnall

Time: 2018–Present
Project: Organometallics
imblythe@umich.edu

Hometown: Azle, TX


 

Michael Milbauer

B.S. Chemistry 2018
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Advisor: Dr. Judith Burstyn

Time: 2019–Present
Project: Organometallics
milbauer@umich.edu


 

Maria Morales

B.S. Chemistry 2018
University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
Advisor: Dr. Elba Reyes

Time: 2019–Present
Project: C–H Activation & Fluorination
moralema@umich.edu

Hometown: Gurabo, Puerto Rico


 

Ryan Walser-Kuntz

B.A. Chemistry 2018
St. Olaf COllege
Advisor: Dr. Dipa Kalyani

Time: 2018–Present
Project: Flow Batteries
rwalserk@umich.edu

Hometown: Northfield, MN


Brianna Jett

B.S. Biomedical Sciences 2019
Colorado State University
Advisor: Dr. Andy McNally

Time: 2020-Present
Project: Flow Batteries
bjett@umich.edu

Hometown: Shreveport, LA


Matthew Lasky

B.A. Chemistry 2018
Bard College
Advisor: Dr. Emily McLaughlin

Time: 2020-Present
Project: C-H Activation
mlasky@umich.edu

Hometown: Milford, CT


Frances Gu

B.Sc. Honors Chemistry 2019
University of British Columbia
Advisor: Dr. Glenn Sammis

Time: 2020-Present
Project: Fluorination
frgu@umich.edu

Hometown: Beijing, China


Geraldo Duran Camacho

B.S. Chemistry 2019
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus
Advisor: Dr. Ingrid Montes

Time: 2020-Present
Project: Fluorination
durancam@umich.edu

Hometown: San Juan, Puerto Rico


Mami Horikawa

B.S Chemistry 2020
University of Southern California
Advisor: Dr. Barry C.Thompson

Time: 2021-Present
Project: Fluorination
mamih@umich.edu

Hometown: Urayasu, Japan


Jonathan Hall

B.A. Chemistry & Math 2019
Williams College
Advisor: Dr. Anthony Carrasquillo

Time: 2021-Present
Project: Organometallics
jrhhall@umich.edu

Hometown: Long Island, NY / Adams, MA


Alexander Bunnell

B.A. Chemistry 2019
Bard College
Advisor: Dr. Emily McLaughlin

Time: 2021-Present
Project: Cross-Coupling
abunnell@umich.edu

Hometown: New Haven, CT


Al Vicente Riano Lisboa

M.S. Chemistry
University of Michigan

Time: 2021-Present
Project: C-H Activation
lisboa@umich.edu

Hometown: Manila, Philippines


Daniel Liu

B.S. University of Michigan (in progress)

Time: 2019-Present
Project: C-H Activation


Ila Castro De La Torre

B.S. Chemistry 2020
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
Advisor: Dr. Alexander Spokoyny

Time:2022-Present
Project: Organometallics
iycastro@umich.edu

Hometown: Ecuador


Taylor Spiller

B.S. Chemistry 2021
University of Texas at San Antonio
Advisor: Dr. Doug Frantz

Time: 2022-Present
Project: Fluorination
tspiller@umich.edu

Hometown: Seagraves, TX


Joshua Thedford

B.S. Chemistry 2021
University of Georgia
Advisor: Dr. Aaron Thompson

Time: 2022-Present
Project: Organometallics
thedford@umich.edu

Hometown: Atlanta, GA


Bobby Wolesensky

B.S. Chemistry 2021
University of New York
Advisor: Dr. Dirk Trauner

Time: 2022-Present
Project: Cross-Coupling
bobbyw@umich.edu

Hometown: Liberty Hill, TX


Sabrina Carneiro

B.A. Chemistry 2021
Pomona College
Advisor: Dr. Nicholas D. Ball

Time: 2022-Present
Project: C-H Activation
sabnc@umich.edu

Hometown: Sao Paolo, Brazil


Emily Nolan

B.A. Chemistry 2021
St. Olaf College
Advisor: Dr. Elodie Marlier

Time: 2022-Present
Project: Organometallics
elnolan@umich.edu

Hometown: Guilford, CT

 


Sean Calvert

B.S. Chemistry 2022
Southwestern University
Advisor: Dr. Mike Gesinski

Project: Cross-Coupling
seancalv@umich.edu

Hometown: Cypress, TX


Erica Ko

B.A. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2022
Bryn Mawr College
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Melvin

Project: C-H
ericako@umich.edu

Hometown: Seongnam, South Korea


Abdias Noel

B.S. Chemistry 2021
University of Florida
Advisors: Dr. Alexander J. Grenning
and Dr. Simon E. Lopez

Project: Fluorination
nabdias@umich.edu

Hometown: Naples, Florida