Our Faculty

Our joint partnership between the Department of English and the School of Education means that students can take advantage of a broad range of faculty strengths and interests, from rhetorical theory and history to new media work to disability studies to composition pedagogy.

A particular strength of our program is the opportunity for students to gain expertise in conducting quantitative and qualitative research on writing in colleges and the schools. Our faculty are committed to working with you to craft an individualized program appropriate to your interests and needs. Feel free to contact any of us to discuss the program.

Laura Aull : English Faculty

Laura Aull

English Faculty

Composition, applied linguistics, corpus linguistics, writing assessment, writing analytics, genre analysis…Read more

 

 

Anne Curzan : Education and English Faculty

Anne Curzan

acurzan@umich.edu

Education and English Faculty

History of English, language and gender, corpus linguistics, lexicography, pedagogy…Read more

Barry J. Fishman : Education Faculty

Barry J. Fishman

fishman@umich.edu

Education Faculty

Technology, video games as models for learning, teacher learning, design-based implementation research…Read more

Anne R. Gere : Program Chair | Education and English Faculty

Anne R. Gere

argere@umich.edu

Program Chair | Education and English Faculty

Composition theory, gender and literacy, writing assessment, pedagogy…Read more 

Website

David Gold : English Faculty

David Gold

dpg@umich.edu

English Faculty

History of rhetoric, women’s rhetorics, composition pedagogy…Read more

Scott Richard Lyons : English Faculty

Scott Richard Lyons

lyonssr@umich.edu

English Faculty

Native American and global indigenous studies, critical theory, rhetoric…Read more

Elizabeth Birr Moje : Education Faculty

Elizabeth Birr Moje

moje@umich.edu

Education Faculty

Adolescent and disciplinary literacy, literacy and cultural theory, research methods…Read more

Alisse Portnoy : English Faculty

Alisse Portnoy

alisse@umich.edu

English Faculty

Rhetoric and composition; rhetorical activism and civil rights movements…Read more

Mary J. Schleppegrell : Education Faculty

Mary J. Schleppegrell

mjschlep@umich.edu

Education Faculty

Functional linguistics, second language learning, discourse analysis, language development…Read more

Megan Sweeney : English Faculty

Megan Sweeney

meganls@umich.edu

English Faculty

African American literature and culture; ethnography; pedagogy; critical prison studies…Read more

Ebony Elizabeth Thomas : Education Faculty

Ebony Elizabeth Thomas

ebonyt@umich.edu

Education Faculty

Ebony is an expert on children’s literature, youth media, and fan culture. Read more...

Thomas Toon : English Faculty

Thomas Toon

ttoon@umich.edu

English Faculty

Language variation and socio-historical linguistics (especially the influences of literacy on processes of language change); Read more…

Daniel Valella : English Faculty

Daniel Valella

dvalella@umich.edu

English Faculty

U.S. minority literatures, rhetorical theory, comparative ethnic studies, queer of color critique. Read more...

 

M. Remi Yergeau (they/them/theirs) : English Faculty

M. Remi Yergeau (they/them/theirs)

myergeau@umich.edu

English Faculty

Rhetoric & writing studies, digital studies, queer rhetorics, and critical disability studies…Read more