Browse By

2017 Guide to Michigan’s Summer Literary Festivals

We’d love to add to this list, so let us know if we’ve missed a good one!

Midwest Literary Walk
Chelsea, MI
Saturday, April 29 | 1-5 p.m.

The 9th Annual Midwest Literary Walk will feature readings and panels with authors Peter Ho Davies, Derek Palacio, Heather Ann Thomson, Kwame Alexander, and Airea Dee Matthews. A 2017 brochure with maps and event info is available here.

Ann Arbor Book Festival
Ann Arbor, Michigan,
Thursday, June 15 to Saturday, June 17

“Formed in 2003, the Ann Arbor Book Festival’s mission is to promote reading, heighten awareness of literacy challenges, and showcase the rich culture of the written word in Michigan and beyond. Each year a diverse group of community leaders committed to literature, language, and the arts in Michigan plans the Festival. While the festival is located in Ann Arbor, it is regional in its scope and interest.”

Detroit Book City’s Juneteenth Books, Music & Arts Fair 2017
Detroit, MI
Saturday, June 17 | 11 a.m. – 4 p.m.

This year’s festival will feature book signings and events with authors Asher Shelton, Tracy Richardson, Royce Kinniebrew, Chelsea Thomas, David Watkins, Stephanie Burrage, Renita M. Walker, Sekou Afrika, Yusuf Ali El, Kim Batchelor Davis, Shirley Mitchell, One Iam, Patrice Lee, Lisa Warir, Andre Batts. Admission is free for guests registering prior to May 31.

Once Upon a Book
Frankenmuth, MI
Friday, August 11 at 7 p.m. & Saturday, August 12 at 3 p.m.

The 2017 Once Upon a Book Author Signing and Caught in the Classics Ball will host a robust list of authors at the Bavarian Inn Lodge, including:

Kerrytown Book Festival
Ann Arbor, MI
September 10

“The Kerrytown BookFest is held each September and is a celebration of books, those who create them and those who read them. Our primary goal is to highlight our area’s rich heritage in the book and printing arts and showcase local individuals, businesses, and organizations. The day will be filled with entertainment, education, and hands-on experiences.”

This year’s author line-up includes Ellen Airgood, David Bell, James R. Benn, Erica M. Chapman, Desiree Cooper, Dave Coverly, Peter Ho Davies, Karen Dionne, Loren D. Estleman, Robert Fanning, Patrick Flores-Scott, Elizabeth Heiter, Gordon Henry, Jr., Nancy Herriman, Anna Lee Huber, Laurel Davis Huber, D.E. (Dan) Johnson, Stephen Mack Jones, Zilka Joseph, Kristin Bartley Lenz, M.L. Leiber, Howard Markel, Molly McCaffrey, Greer Macallister, Heather Smith Meloche, Cindy Hunter Morgan, Drew Phillips, Deanna Raybourn, Ted Sanders, Tom Stanton, Keith Taylor, Pamela D. Toler, Z.G. Tomaszewski, Douglas Trevor, Simon Van Booy, Stephen Ward, Darcy Woods, and Michael Zadoorian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.