Who We Are

Founded in 1980, the International T. S. Eliot Society is an association of persons around the world who are interested in the art and thought of T. S. Eliot. We hold gatherings and conferences; we sponsor sessions at other associations’ conferences; we publish news, reviews, articles online and in book form. We also host a ten-day International Summer School each year

The Eliot Society is grateful for the sponsorship of the T. S. Eliot Foundation

The Eliot Society is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Board of Directors

John Whittier-Ferguson, President
Patrick Query, Vice President
Tony Cuda, Secretary
David E. Chinitz, Treasurer
Jayme Stayer, Supervisor of Elections
John Morgenstern, Historian
Ria Banerjee
Julia E. Daniel
Melanie Fathman
Earl Holt III
Megan Quigley
Vincent Sherry
Aakanksha Virkar

Honorary Members

Jewel Spears Brooker
Robert Crawford
Lyndall Gordon
John Haffenden
A. D. Moody
Craig Raine
Ronald Schuchard
Marianne Thormählen


Cleanth Brooks
Mrs. Valerie Eliot
Donald C. Gallup
Robert Giroux
Russell Kirk
Andre Osze
Grover C. Smith
Leonard H. Unger

Distinguished Service Awardees

Jewel Spears Brooker
Christine Buttram
William Charron
Michael Coyle
Anthony Fathman
Melanie Fathman
Nancy K. Gish
Cyrena Pondrom

Friends of the Society

Massimo Bacigalupo
William Charron
The Earl of Harrowby
Judith Hooper
Dídac Llorens Cubedo
William Marx
Clare Reihill
T. S. Eliot International Summer School
T. S. Eliot Society of the UK
Fabio Vericat

T. S. Eliot Memorial Lecturers

View titles and, if relevant, publication information

Robert Pinsky, 2021
Robert von Hallberg, 2020
Leonard Diepeveen, 2019
David E. Chinitz, 2018
John Haffenden, 2017
Lyndall Gordon, 2016
Jed Esty, 2015
Sarah Cole, 2014
Jahan Ramazani, 2013
Daniel Albright, 2012
Jean-Michel Rabaté, 2011
Michael Levenson, 2010
Ronald Bush, 2009
Grace Schulman, 2008
George T. Wright, 2007
William Blissett, 2006
Robert Crawford, 2005
Craig Raine, 2004
Leon Surette, 2003
Marjorie Perloff, 2002
Geoffrey Hill, 2001
Carl Phillips, 2000
Helen Vendler, 1999
Charles Altieri, 1998
James Longenbach, 1997
Marianne Thormählen, 1996
Louis Menand, 1995
William Harmon, 1994
Christopher Ricks, 1993
Denis Donoghue, 1992
Cleo McNelly Kearns, 1991
Shyamal Bagchee, 1990
Leonard Unger, 1989
A. D. Moody, 1988
James Olney, 1987
Grover Smith, 1986
Ronald Schuchard, 1985
Jewel Spears Brooker, 1984
Earl K. Holt, III, 1983
Charles Guenther, 1982
Robert C. Roach, 1981
Marcella Holloway, 1980

Past Presidents

Jayme Stayer (2019 – 2021)
Frances Dickey (2016 – 2018)
Michael Coyle (2013 – 2015)
David E. Chinitz (2010 – 2012)
William Harmon (2007 – 2009)
Benjamin Lockerd (2004 – 2006)
Shyamal Bagchee (2001 – 2003)
Linda Wyman (1998 – 2000)
Sanford Schwartz (1995 – 1997)
Vinnie-Marie D’Ambrosio (1992 – 1994)
Grover C. Smith (1989 – 1991)
Jewel Spears Brooker (1985 – 1988)


Leslie Konnyu
Könnyü László
(b. 1914, Tamási, Hungary;
d. 1992, St. Louis)